Starting from 2020, a new award called Rising Star in Dependability Award is presented annually at the IEEE/IFIP International Conference on Dependable Systems and Networks (DSN) to recognize a junior researcher, from academia or industry, who demonstrates outstanding potential for creative ideas and innovative research in the field of dependable and resilient computer systems and networks. The award is jointly sponsored by the IEEE TC on Dependable Computing and Fault Tolerance (TCFT) and IFIP Working Group 10.4 on Dependable Computing and Fault Tolerance (WG 10.4).

To be eligible, a candidate must have graduated no more than 10 years before the nomination deadline (considering the year as a reference). Career disruptions or delays (e.g. Parental leaves) that may have been experienced by the candidates are taken into consideration by the selection committee. A candidate may be nominated a maximum of two times. Previous recipients of the Award are not eligible. Self nominations and nominations by the Rising Star award committee members are not allowed

The Rising star in dependability award is selected by an Award Committee appointed by the IEEE TCFT Chair, the IFIP WG 10.4 Chair and the current DSN PC chairs. The award takes the form of a plaque presented to the award recipient at the conference. The award recipient is required to attend DSN to receive the award and is invited to give a presentation to DSN attendees. His/her conference registration is borne by the conference.

The winner of the 2020 Rising Star in Dependability Award is:


Karthik Pattabiraman
University of British Columbia, Canada

Citation from the nomination letter:

While traditionally, dependable computer systems have been confined to domains where cost was not a primary concern, Dr. Pattabiraman has developed innovative techniques to make computer systems dependable at low cost, thereby allowing their use in our daily lives.

Bio: Karthik Pattabiraman received his M.S and PhD. degrees from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC) in 2004 and 2009 respectively. After a post-doctoral stint at Microsoft Research (MSR), Karthik joined the University of British Columbia (UBC) in 2010, where he is now an Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE). Karthik’s research interests are in error-resilient software systems, software reliability, and Internet of Things (IoT) security.  He is a recipient of numerous awards and honors including the William Carter award in 2008, the distinguished alumni early career educator award from UIUC’s Computer Science department in 2018, the 2018 Killam Faculty Research Prize and the 2016 Killam Faculty Research Fellowship from UBC, and the NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplement (DAS) award in Canada in 2015. Karthik is a senior member of the IEEE and the ACM, and the vice-chair of the IFIP Working Group on Dependable Computing and Fault Tolerance (10.4).

Presentation teaser:


The Rising Start in Dependability award presentation is scheduled on July 2 at 15:00 (CEST). Further details can be found at the program of the conference.

DSN-2020 Rising Star in Dependability award Committee

Paulo Verissimo, U. Luxembourg, LU

Peter Buchholz, TU Dortmund, DE
Gernot Heiser, UNSW, AU
Gilles Muller, INRIA/LIP6, FR
Evgenia Smirni, College William & Mary, US

Complete information on the award can be found on the award web page: